Tuesday, June 7, 2011

and the winners are....

I can't wait for Thursday evening (June 9): the public tastings of winning old mutual trophy wines will be held at the CTICC and i am taking a fabulous lady friend with me to sample the top of the pops :-) Tickets are R120pp at Computicket. Tastings start 5pm-8:30pm.


Fairbairn Capital Trophy for the Most Successful Producer
Spier Private Cellar
Old Mutual Trophy for Best Red Wine: Thelema Shiraz 2007

Old Mutual Trophy for Best White Wine: Paul Cluver Chardonnay 2009
Old Mutual International Judges’ Trophy: Paul Cluver Chardonnay 2009

Old Mutual Trophy for Discovery of the Show: Nuy White Muskadel 2005

Old Mutual Trophy for Best Dessert Wine: Nederburg Private Bin Eminence Noble Late Harvest Muscadel 2008
British Airways Comair Trophy for the Best Shiraz: Thelema Shiraz 2007
Grande Roche Trophy for Best White Blend: Fleur du Cap Unfiltered Special White Blend 2010
Riedel Trophy for Best Bordeaux-style Blend: KWV The Mentors Orchestra 2009
American Express Trophy for Best Cabernet Sauvignon – Museum Class: Cathedral Cellar Cabernet Sauvignon 1995
Just Riesling Trophy for Best Riesling: Jordan Riesling 2009
Miele Trophy for Best Chardonnay: Paul Cluver Chardonnay 2009
Trophy for Best Sauvignon Blanc Semillon Blend:
Spier Creative Block 2 2010
Trophy for Best Sauvignon Blanc: Delaire Coastal Cuvée Sauvignon Blanc 2010
Trophy for Best Pinot Noir: Meerlust Pinot Noir 2009
Trophy for Best Merlot: Hillcrest Quarry 2008
Trophy for Best Pinotage: Rijk’s Pinotage 2007
Trophy for Best Shiraz-based Red Blend:
Ormonde Theodore Eksteen 2008
Trophy for the Best Fortified Dessert Wine: Nuy White Muskadel 2005
Trophy for Best Semillon – Museum Class: Cape Point Vineyards Semillon 2006
Trophy for Best Riesling – Museum Class: Hartenberg Weisser Riesling 1999
Trophy for Best Sauvignon Blanc – Museum Class: Lomond Sugarbush Sauvignon Blanc 2007
Trophy for the Best Fortified Dessert Wine – Museum Class: KWV White Jerepigo 1933

Sutherland Viognier Roussanne 2009
Buitenverwachting Husseys Vlei Sauvignon Blanc 2010
Tokara Zondernaam Sauvignon Blanc 2010
Spier Private Collection Shiraz 2008
Lomond Syrah 2008
Chamonix Reserve Chardonnay 2009
Hillcrest Quarry 2009

A full set of results including the Silver and Bronze medals, a transcript of the judges’ feedback session and a variety of statistics are available on www.trophywineshow.co.za <http://www.trophywineshow.co.za/>

No comments: